This is the "Home" page of the "Teacher Resource Guide for Washington, DC History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Resource Guide for Washington, DC History   Tags: education, history, teachers, washington dc, washington dc history  

Selected primary sources, arranged by teaching unit from the DC Public Schools' 12th grade DC History and Government Scope and Sequence
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.dclibrary.org/teachers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

Welcome, Teachers! This guide provides in-library and online primary sources for teachers of Washington, DC history. Resources are arranged by teaching unit, according to the DC Public Schools' 12th grade DC History and Government Scope and Sequence. Use the tabs above to navigate between units. 

 

Washingtoniana @ DCPL Special Collections

The  Washingtoniana Collection of DC Public Library's Special Collections houses a comprehensive collection of material on Washington, D.C. from the late 18th century to the present.

The reference library includes:

Washingtoniana is currently co-located with the Historical Society of Washington, DC. See the Special Collections Interim Service Plan for more details. 

National History Day

Need help coming up with a theme for your National History Day project? Why not focus on local DC history? DC Public Library's Special Collections Department can help! The topics on the page below are supported by primary and secondary sources available in Special Collections. Contact us to set up a research appointment and learn more about the resources you can use. 

Dig DC

  • Dig DC
    Dig DC is your portal to selected digitized and born-digital items from DC Public Library Special Collections. At Dig DC you can find photos, maps, audio and more documenting the history of Washington D.C.

Other Guides

Southeast DC Neighborhood History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated May 25, 2017
Neighborhood history resources for Southeast DC.
517 views this year
Southwest DC Neighborhood History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated May 25, 2017
Resources for Southwest Washington, DC neighborhood research
218 views this year
Northeast DC Neighborhood History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated May 26, 2017
Resources for Northeast Washington, DC neighborhood history research.
588 views this year
Getting Started with Washington, D.C. History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated May 25, 2017
Resources to jump-start your Washington, D.C. history research.
184 views this year
Frederick Douglass in Washington, D.C.
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated May 25, 2017
Resources to accompany the 2013 DC Reads book selection, "Frederick Douglass in Washington, D.C.: The Lion of Anacostia".
59 views this year
DC Public Library Research Guides
by Maryann James-Daley - Last Updated Dec 27, 2016
The homepage for DC Public Library Libguides.
890 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip