This is the "Home" page of the "Southwest DC Neighborhood History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Southwest DC Neighborhood History   Tags: history, southwest, washington dc, washington dc history  

Resources for Southwest Washington, DC neighborhood research
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.dclibrary.org/swdc Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Topic

Welcome! This guide provides neighborhood history resources on Southwest Washington, DC. Use the tabs above to navigate between the various neighborhood pages.

 

Ask a Librarian

Have a question related to DC history? Email your question to wash.dcpl@dc.gov or call us during operating hours at 202-727-1213. Special Collections provides high-quality reference service to customers, connecting them to appropriate information resources - both for queries within our collections and through referrals. 

Other Guides

Southeast DC Neighborhood History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated Jul 27, 2016
Neighborhood history resources for Southeast DC.
378 views this year
Southwest DC Neighborhood History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated Jul 27, 2016
Resources for Southwest Washington, DC neighborhood research
184 views this year
Northeast DC Neighborhood History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated Jul 27, 2016
Resources for Northeast Washington, DC neighborhood history research.
407 views this year
Getting Started with Washington, D.C. History
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated Jul 26, 2016
Resources to jump-start your Washington, D.C. history research.
158 views this year
Frederick Douglass in Washington, D.C.
by Lauren Martino - Last Updated Mar 6, 2017
Resources to accompany the 2013 DC Reads book selection, "Frederick Douglass in Washington, D.C.: The Lion of Anacostia".
49 views this year
DC Public Library Research Guides
by Maryann James-Daley - Last Updated Dec 27, 2016
The homepage for DC Public Library Libguides.
671 views this year
 

From the DCPL Photo Archive

Independence Ave SW in 1941, before the Avenue was widened and these rowhouses were demolished. The Washington Post, 1941. From the Washington Historical Image Collection, DC Public Library.

 

Neighborhood Research in Special Collections

Make the Washingtoniana Collection of the DC Public Library your first stop for neighborhood history research!

Neighborhood history resources in Washingtoniana include:

  • Neighborhood Bibliographies - Secondary sources to help you get an overview of the history and development of your neighborhood
  • Vertical Files - Subject folders filled primarily with news clippings related to neighborhoods, streets, houses and local institutions
  • Property Research - Plat maps, building permits, assessment directories, city directories and census records
  • DC Community Archives - Archival collections of local organizations and individuals
  • Photograph Collections - Photo collections include street scenes, historic houses, places of worship, schools and businesses

Other Local Resources

Featured Resource

Daily Evening Star. May 16, 1853.

  • Washington Evening Star, 1852-1950
    Search and browse "scanned" copies of every page of every issue of the Star, long considered the "hometown paper of record" for the Nation’s Capital. This valuable archive offers significant new research opportunities from the Antebellum Period to World War I to the start of the Korean War.
 

Follow the Library

Facebook Twitter LinkedInPinterest DC Public Library on Goodreads  YouTube
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip