Neighborhood history resources for Southeast DC.
Welcome! This guide provides resources to help you research Southeast Washington, DC neighborhood history. Use the tabs above to find your neighborhood.
Have a question related to DC history? Email your question to firstname.lastname@example.org or call us during operating hours at 202-727-1213. Special Collections provides high-quality reference service to customers, connecting them to appropriate information resources - both for queries within our collections and through referrals.
Frederick Douglass in Washington, D.C.
- Last Updated May 21, 2014
Resources to accompany the 2013 DC Reads book selection, "Frederick Douglass in Washington, D.C.: The Lion of Anacostia".
309 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 25, 2013
A literary journey through the history of the United States
505 views this year
This documentary from filmmaker Tendani Mpulbusi explores the rich but turbulent history of the Barry Farm neighborhood in Ward 8 of Washington, DC. The once prominent Southeast neighborhood currently faces the same economic and social challenges experienced by communities throughout the District. From the Humanities Council of Washington, DC.
Make the Washingtoniana Collection of the DC Public Library your first stop for neighborhood history research!
Neighborhood history resources in Washingtoniana include:
- Neighborhood Bibliographies - Secondary sources to help you get an overview of the history and development of your neighborhood
- Vertical Files - Subject folders filled primarily with news clippings related to neighborhoods, streets, houses and local institutions
- Property Research - Plat maps, building permits, assessment directories, city directories and census records
- DC Community Archives - Archival collections of local organizations and individuals
- Photograph Collections - Photo collections include street scenes, historic houses, places of worship, schools and businesses
- Historical Society of Washington, DC Kiplinger Research Library
Extensive collections document over 200 years of Washington history.
- DC Historic Preservation Office
Links to community and ward heritage guides, Historic Preservation Review Board reports, historic district/landmark maps, and other preservation resources.
- District of Columbia Archives
Holds historical and permanently valuable records of the DC Government such as birth and death records, wills, land records and marriage records.
- Howard University Moorland-Springarn Research Center
Repository for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas, and other parts of the world.
- GWU Gelman Library Special Collections
Archival collections focus on local authors, businesses, historical and political papers, neighborhood association records and photographs.
- Charles Sumner School Archives
Yearbooks and official archives for DC Public Schools.
- National Archives
Collections include census records, military service and pension records, passenger arrival records, naturalization records, Freedmen's Bureau records, slavery records, and probate estate case files.
- Library of Congress Local History & Genealogy Room
Collections include more than 50,000 genealogies, 100,000 local histories, and vertical files containing materials related to specific family names, states, towns, and cities of the U.S.
Daily Evening Star. May 16, 1853.